About the United Nations

An international organization founded in 1945 after the Second World War, the United Nations is committed to maintaining international peace and security, developing friendly relations among nations and promoting social progress, better living standards and human rights. The United Nations is made up of six main organs. The United Nations family, however, is much larger, encompassing 15 agencies and several programmes and bodies all of which are committed to working toward the mission and goals of the United Nations.

Quick Facts

General Assembly: 192 Member States
Security Council: 5 permanent members and 10 non-permanent
Economic and Social Council: 54 members
International Court of Justice: 15 judges